Saturday, June 11, 2005

Swank’s Three Play Faves Garner 8 Tonys: By Christine

Swank has written articles on three different Broadway plays and surprise... (not!) all three plays discussed were winners of a (or more) Tony(s) on June 5/05.

The Categories awarded were:
Best Play
Author: John Patrick Shanley
Producers: Carole Shorenstein Hays, MTC Productions, Inc., Lynne Meadow, Barry Grove, Roger Berlind, Scott Rudin

Best Revival of a Play
Glengarry Glen Ross
Producers: Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Jam Theatricals, Boyett Ostar Productions, Ronald Frankel, Philip Lacerte, Stephanie P. McClelland/CJM Productions, Barry Weisbord, Zendog Productions, Herbert Goldsmith Productions, Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Julia C. Levy

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Play
Cherry Jones, Doubt   

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Play
Liev Schreiber, Glengarry Glen Ross  

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Play
Adriane Lenox, Doubt  

Best Scenic Design of a Play
Scott Pask, The Pillowman   

Best Lighting Design of a Play
Brian MacDevitt, The Pillowman   

Best Direction of a Play
Doug Hughes, Doubt   

The Tony Awards are presented by Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. For a complete (and unbiased) listing of the winners go to:

No comments: